James is jealous of his retired sister in law who has everything. At least that’s what he thinks.
I know life is unfair, but i truly, madly, deeply, fully felt the unfairness when my wife told me a shocking piece of news.
Thea : My sister just retired…
James : what the fuck?
Thea : yeah…this Friday is her last day of work.
James : what the fuck…?
Thea : Tsk…can you say something else besides that?
James: What…the …fuck…
My wife slapped me playfully on my cheek before squeezing them tightly together with one hand. She kissed me on my lips before putting on her cardigan and her earrings.
Thea : I’ll be back later tonight. Got a team dinner. You eat on your own ya.
James: orh…
It’s 7.45am on a Wednesday morning.
If you are in your early 30s like me, you should be on your way to work, or maybe you are already at work.
I’m still sitting in bed, blanket over my legs, hair in a mess and staring into blank space.
Ever since being retrenched about 6 months ago, i’ve been trying to get back up on my feet ever since.
My BTO with Thea, is 3 years away from completion. We’re staying in my sister in law, Theresa’s house, we call her Tres in short.
We’re paying rent by the way, $250 a month including utilities, internet, and whatever food Tres put in the fridge and cabinets. For $250, i get to use Tres’ car too, a Mercedes she bought to support a car dealer friend. I wished i could afford a GLB to support a friend. That car, is practically parked at the basement to collect dust. Tres barely drives it, and when she needed to go somewhere, i’m the one that drives her because, well, i’m unemployed.
Wah James, sounds like good deal leh.
Good deal? I haven even get to the good parts.
80 inch TV with all the fucking subscriptions you can think of. Sound system alone, cost almost 50000 to set up. You can hear the actors fart with those speakers.
Furniture in the house are by designers whose name i can’t even pronounce. The house?
A 4 bedroom condo right opposite Botanic Gardens.
My wife, is pretty, but Tres, Tres is hot.
There is a difference.
It didn’t matter that she’s only 2 years older than my wife. At 35, she looked like she’s in the prime of her life.
This is the part where you expect me to share how must of a horrible person Tres must be, or how she accumulated her wealth in some dodgy way. No, this is the problem.
Tres does investment banking, yes we all know there’s where the money is but her big break was actually from a marriage settlement. Her marriage to a Indonesian business man lasted 6 months, they divorced, and he’s still paying her money every month.
I once queued behind Tres at the ATM, she left her receipt and i noticed she has like 1.2M in her POSB savings account.
Tres : Oh i don’t put too much in there. Just in case i get scammed.
1.2M is not too much for Tres.
I don’t even have 12k in the 3 bank account i have when put together.
Tres doesn’t care for branded stuff, she didn’t need fancy clothes, she’s not even picky when it comes to food. Most of the meals i had with her were at hawker centres and foodcourt. When she travel, she flies economy, she takes buses and MRT more than taxis or her car. More convenient , she claims.
Tres has no airs, she’s very humble, very sweet, and she’s fucking hot.
Hot enough for me to think of her when i’m having sex with my wife.
How do you even begin to hate someone like that?
When people have a bit of money or success, it’s common to see them show off on their social media account.
Tres? She doesn’t even have a linkedin profile. She has no social media presence at all. Her phone is a 6 year old phone with cracked screen, she can’t even be bothered to get her own slippers, she wears mine when she goes out with her sister.
Why?
Why so unfair?
Why can’t life at least make her some horrible bitch where the average joe along the street will hate her, then it makes for better drama and stories, but Tres seemed to have picked all the right stats and attributes when building her life before reincarnation if you believe stuff like this.
Nobody is perfect.
Everyone has a flaw, there must be.
Tres is too perfect.
I’m sure she’s hiding something. Maybe something dark.
Maybe she’s in a cult, maybe she’s worshipping some dark idol that requires cat sacrifices.
No one, is this perfect, not in this world we live in, especially not in Singapore.
As the saying goes, if something is too good to be true, it probably is.
I got out of bed and opened the bedroom door with a determined look on my face. Like i’m going to fight some epic battle.
I WILL FIND OUT WHAT EVER DARK SECRETS YOU HAVE!
That thought screamed though my head as the door swung opened fully.
Tres walked into my field of vision in a white dress, she was in the midst of putting on her earrings and her head was angled towards me. She gave me that seductive gaze and smile that she so generously threw about with anyone without knowing as she bent forward to pick up her phone from the sofa.
What happens when you bend in a loose fitting dress?
I saw her full, deep valley, just a quick glimpse before she right herself.
Tres : Morning James…it’s starting to drizzle, can send me to the office?
The hero complex disappeared immediately as i turned back into the meek and obedient brother in law.
James : of course Zeh…
Yes i call her Zeh, or Sis in short.
I grabbed the car keys from the counter, watched Tres put on her heels while holding onto my arm for support.
Tres: ok let’s go…
James: ok let’s go…
Nobody, nobody is that perfect.
Nobody.
Coming soon
